Avant Garde and Ear Piercings

The words avant garde mean new and unusual ideas or expressions. I would argue that as a male having both ears pierced is avant garde to older generations in our society now. I recently got my own pierced, as you can see in these pictures, and caught hell from my father who is in his fifties. Jokingly, he said I looked like a little girl and explained that if his father, my grandfather who died at an early age, had seen them he would snatch them right out of my ear! Just as Michael Jordan’s iconic single gold hoop earring in the nineties, or for my father long flowing hair during the seventies, having both ears pierced is becoming an avant garde style for men in my own generation.

 

Leave a Reply

